Lines


Rumi tells (loose translation): “Get out
of my mind. Go play
the stringed instrument.” I did
yesterday, at least most all morning.

At least I looked out the window
across the double yellow lines,
through the locked gate,
past already written lines.

And I came back because I love
work, too, both sides of the border:
the cultivated and the wild,
maybe mostly erasing the lines.

One comment on “Lines

  1. Joel Malley says:

    Wonderful words…I think I need to do a little more of the former (play) and a little less of the former (mind).

Leave a Reply

