Rainy Reasons

Rain patters steadily atop the tin roof.
A Canada goose sips from water puddles.
So Saturday morning slows time enough

Almost scary to feel, uncompressed, free
will; to ask, uncompromised, off
work; to love, because it’s best that way

A farmboy learns early on that dead
lines, like fence rows, are never cleared
up for long. Books unread, unwritten word

reasons enough for rain to fall & life goes
on

4 comments on “Rainy Reasons

  1. Joel says:

    This really resonated. I am most antsy when I find myself with down time and no set thing I want to accomplish. Weird…should feel the most settled. What did I do with myself before Blogging and Twitter and writing and reading? What do others do?

  2. Cristina says:

    Your poems always leave me halfway to the truth…like a subversive emotional yet always aware knife into what is real and what it could be.
    Thank you for sharing, Joseph.
    *My favorite line: “slows time enough/ almost scary to feel, uncompressed, free will”…

  3. blkdrama says:

    I am there without the tin roof. But I have my iPad filled with possibilities and someone to nap with… so I’m off, hoping that we will be working in sunshine together next week.

  4. […] dochorsetales Just another WordPress.com site Skip to content HomeAbout ← Rainy Reasons […]

Leave a Reply

